skip to main content
Back to Top

Residents' Research Day for General Surgery

2019 Residents' Research Day

Date - To Be Announced

2018 Residents' Research Day

Date:  Friday May 11, 2018

Guest Speaker:  Dr. Andrew Kirkpatrick, University of Calgary

Dr. Kirkpatrick is a Professor in both the Departments of Surgery and Critical Care Medicine at the Foothills Medical Centre of the University of Calgary, and the former Medical Director of Regional Trauma Services. Dr. Kirkpatrick graduated Magna Cum Laude from the University of Ottawa, with fellowships in Surgery and Critical Care at the University of Toronto with a Master’s degree in Epidemiology at the University of British Columbia. He is immediate Past President of the Abdominal Compartment Society. Dr. Kirkpatrick has more than 375 peer-reviewed articles and book chapters, mainly concerning intra-abdominal hypertension, emergency sonography, hypothermia, aerospace medicine and occult pneumothoraxes. He is a Past President of the Trauma Association of Canada, a past executive member of the Canadian Emergency Ultrasound Society and the Canadian Association of General Surgeons Evidence Based Reviews in Surgery Committees. He has consulted for the Canadian Space Agency and the National Space and Aeronautical Agencies. He retains a reserve com-mission in the Canadian Forces and has served oversees on several occasions. He is a former Paratrooper and Flight Surgeon and currently maintains a current pilots license. He has completed over 500 parabolas of parabolic flight research.

2017 Residents' Research Day

Date:  Friday May 11, 2017

Guest Speaker:  Dr. Homer Tien, University of Toronto

Dr. Tien joined Ornge as the Chief Medical Officer in 2015 from Toronto’s Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre where he was the Medical Director for the Tory Regional Trauma Centre, Canada’s largest trauma center.  Previously he was a Colonel in the Canadian Armed Forces, having served with both conventional and Special Operations Forces in Afghanistan, the former Yugoslavia, the Golan Heights and Myanmar.  Dr. Tien has had a distinguished career as a frontline military physician who has worked in combat zones, a well-regarded mentor within the Forces, a researcher in the field of trauma surgery, and as an educator at the University of Toronto.  His accolades include the Order of Military Merit, the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal and the Major Frederick Banting Chair in Military Trauma Research. 

2015 Residents' Research Day

Date: Friday October 2, 2015

Guest Speaker: Dr. Richard K. Reznick, Queen's University

A graduate of McGill, Richard Reznick did his surgical training in Toronto followed by fellowships in education at Southern Illinois University and colorectal surgery at the University of Texas in Houston. Well known for his work in medical education, as a faculty member at University of Toronto he was the founding director of the Wilson Centre, Vice President, Education of University Health Network, and for 8 years, the R.S. McLaughlin Professor and Chair of Surgery. He speaks widely around the world and publishes on assessment and novel methods of training. In July of 2010 he became Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences at Queen’s University and CEO of the Southeastern Ontario Academic Medical Organization.

2014 Residents' Research Day

Date: Friday October 31, 2014

Guest Speaker: Dr. John Kane, Roswell Park

John M. Kane III, MD, FACS is Chief of the Melanoma Sarcoma Service, Department of Surgical Oncology at Roswell Park Cancer Institute and Associate Professor of Surgery at the University at Buffalo, the State University of New York at Buffalo. Dr. Kane earned his medical degree from the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. He then completed his general surgery residency and research fellowship at the University of Pittsburgh, followed by a Surgical Oncology Fellowship at Roswell Park Cancer Institute. Dr. Kane previously served as a Lieutenant Colonel in the United States Army Reserve.

Dr. Kane is a fellow of the American College of Surgeons. He was the past Vice-Chair of the Society of Surgical Oncology Training Committee and currently serves on the Society of Surgical Oncology Executive Committee. Dr. Kane is Program Director of the Roswell Park Cancer Institute ACGME accredited Surgical Oncology Fellowship Program. He has authored over 90 manuscripts and abstracts. His clinical and research interests are melanoma, sarcoma, and cytoreduction/HIPEC for peritoneal surface malignancies.
As an educator, Dr. Kane has twice been the recipient of Roswell Park’s Golden Apple Award, which is given to the outstanding educator in surgical oncology. He has also been awarded the Third Year Resident’s Best Educational Surgical Rotation Award in the Department of Surgery and the University at Buffalo medical students’ Commendation for Teaching Excellence Award

2013 Residents' Research Day

Date: Friday October 25, 2013 (Details coming soon)

Guest Speaker: Dr. Nancy Baxter

Dr. Baxter received her MD from University of Toronto in 1990. She trained in surgery at the University of Toronto and completed a PhD in Clinical Epidemiology through the Surgical Scientist Program at University of Toronto in 1998. She undertook fellowship training in Colorectal Surgery at the Mayo Clinic in 2001.

Dr. Baxter worked as an Assistant Professor in Surgery at the University of Minnesota until 2005, when she returned to the University of Toronto where she is on faculty as an Associate Professor in the Department of Surgery at St. Michael*s Hospital and holds a cross appointment to the Department of Health Policy, Management, and Evaluation. She has extensive experience with the use of large databases for studying cancer including cancer registry and administrative data from Canada and the United States. Her main research interests are in the evaluation of patterns of cancer care, investigating non-oncologic factors influencing care, the evaluation of cancer screening and determining the long-term consequences of cancer care for survivors.

2012 Residents' Research Day 

Date: Friday October 12th, 2012

There were 13 resident presentations this year and our keynote speaker was Dr. Calvin Law from Edmond Odette Cancer Centre & Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre. There were some great presentations and discussions. We are pleased to anounce the following:

2011 Residents' Research Day

Date: October 14th, 2011

There were 14 resident presentations this year and our keynote speaker was Dr. Allan Okrainec from Toronto. It was a fantastic day with some great presentations and discussions. Dr. Okrainec's presention entitled "The Development of Sustainable Simulation Programs in Remote and Resource-Poor Areas". We are pleased to anounce the following:

Congratulations to all presenters, we received several comments from attendees that the quality of the projects was very high.

2010 Residents' Research Day

Date: October 15, 2010

It was an informative morning with twelve resident presentations, and our Keynote Speaker, Dr. Paul Belliveau from Queens University in Kingston was impressed by the quality of their work. Dr. Belliveau did a Keynote Presentation entitled “Implementation of an Acute Surgery Service: Impact on Resources and Educational Benefits” which described the Kingston experience and generated much discussion. We are also pleased to report that for the first time, a PGY-1 resident scored the highest.  Congratulations to:

Related Pages


© 201​​7 McMaster University  |  1280 Main Street West  |  Hamilton, Ontario ​L8S 4K1  |  905-525-​9140   |  Contact Us | Terms of Use & Privacy Policy